4 Hills Tournament


Four Hills Tournament is the most prestigious competition in ski jumping.

The  Four Hills Tournament started in 1953.

The  Four Hills Tournament takes place every year in Germany and Austria (in Oberstdorf, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Innsbruck and Bischofschofen).

This contest is organised in the late December and in the early January.

Since 1996/1997 competition has been conducted in the KO system. Usually the day before each official Four-Hills-Tournament competition the qualification series is held. Each national team can delegate up to 8 ski jumpers (except the hosts – they can do more). In the qualifying series there are 50 semi-finalists, although the actual fight for the place in the official competition is won by only 35 jumpers.

The winner of Four Hills Tournament receives a cup, money prize and golden eagle with logo of Four Hills Tournament.

In 2016/2017 won Kamil Stoch (Poland), the second was Piotr Żyła (Poland too) and third was Daniel-Andre Tande.

The 4-Hills-Tournament for many ski jumpers it is as important as the Olympic Games and World Championships, and winning is a testament to the prestige of the athlete, even if it is necessary to give a few impressive and correct stylish jumps during all four Tournament competitions

Interesting facts

  • The only winner of all four contests in one edition: Sven Hannawald (Germany), 2001/2002
  • Most victories in the tournament: Janne Ahonnen (Finland) – five: 1999, 2003, 2005, 2005, 2008


Karolina Szklińska 1aG (2017)